Provisional WEC calendar for 2020/2021

Provisional WEC calendar for 2020/2021

Maranello | 12 December 2019

Eight dates, a prologue and two new destinations are on the FIA WEC’s provisional calendar for the 2020/21 season presented on Thursday in Bahrain. Monza and Kyalami make their debuts as venues for the ninth season of the world endurance championship.

After the prologue at Silverstone on 31 August, the competitors will return to the British track for the opening round, the 6 Hours, on 5 September.
The second stage, the 6 Hours of Monza on 4 October, will be a first for the WEC after the prologue on the Lombard circuit in April 2017. The third race, the 6 Hours of Kyalami over the weekend of 6 February, will likewise see the world championship debut of the renovated South African circuit.
Then there will be return visits to Fuji for the 6 Hours of Fuji on 1 November and the Bahrain 8 Hours on 5 December, and to Sebring for the 1000 Miles that will follow the South African round on 19 March.
The grand finale of the championship includes two WEC classics, the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps on 24 April, and the 24 Hours of Le Mans on 12 and 13 June 2021.
The calendar is awaiting approval by the FIA World Motor Sport Council to be held in Geneva on 6 March 2020.