Season Review 2018
Challenge APAC

Season Review 2018

Maranello | 27 December 2018

Prette, Hanna and Dicker 2018 champions

The eighth season of the Ferrari Challenge APAC saw two experienced drivers win and many other talents emerge in a very exciting year.

Trofeo Pirelli. In Melbourne, Rama Danindro (Ferrari Jakarta) pulled off a surprise double win, but it was quickly clear that Philippe Prette (Blackbird Concessionaires) would be in the title fight right down to the wire with Renaldi Hutasoit (Ferrari Jakarta) and teammate Alex Au, who was back after some years out of the the Ferrari one-make series. Prette won four races, one more than Au but the same as Hutasoit, who however had skipped the first two outings. The three found themselves on the eve of the last race with only two points between them. Prette was on 176, Au on 175 and Hutasoit on 174. Finally, Prette came out on top, largely due to the enormous experience he had gained from 11 seasons of racing.

Coppa Shell. Tani Hanna, another old acquaintance of the Ferrari Challenge, dominated the Coppa Shell. The Scuderia Lebanon driver collected eight wins and wrapped up the title in Singapore. The season also saw wins for Yanbin Xing (CTF Beijing) in Race-2 at Hampton Downs, Kazuyuki Yamaguchi (Cornes Osaka), in the two races at Singapore, Eric Zang, at Melbourne and Shanghai, and Vincent Wong in Race-1 at Melbourne.

Coppa Shell Am. David Dicker won nine races, monopolising the Coppa Shell Am at the wheel of the 488 Challenge of Continental Cars NZ. The Australian clinched the title with a round to spare, overtaking his teammate Grant Baker, who was always on the podium but never victorious, Andrew Moon (Forza Motors Korea), winner in Melbourne and Hampton Downs, and Kent Chen (Modena Motori), who triumphed in Race-1 at Suzuka and Singapore. David Dicker also won the Coppa Gentlemen, while Kanthicha Chimsiri took the Ladies’ Cup.

Latest news