Season Review 2018
Challenge Europe

Season Review 2018

Maranello | 7 January 2019

A glorious year for Nielsen, Froggatt, Hurni and Cuhadaroglu

This year saw the 26th season of the Ferrari Challenge Europe, which produced four new champions, again showing the vibrancy of a series that since 1993 has allowed the brand’s sports customers to have some fun on the track.

Trofeo Pirelli. The young Dane Nicklas Nielsen totally dominated the season, sealing the title with a round to spare at Barcelona. Bjorn Grossmann (Octane 126) was the only real challenger to the Formula Racing driver. The experienced German won two races (Race-1 at Silverstone and Race-2 at Misano) but was helpless against his rival’s overwhelming power. During the season Florian Merckx (Baron Motorsport) won Race-1 at Spa-Francorchamps and David Fumanelli (Rossocorsa), triumphed at home in Race-2 at Monza.

Trofeo Pirelli Am. The Trofeo Pirelli Am was also wrapped up early with Briton Chris Froggatt (Ferrari GB-H.R. Owen) collecting 10 wins to seal the deal at Barcelona. Only two drivers successfully deprived him of victory: Jan Danis (Scuderia Praha) in Race-2 at Mugello and the 21-year-old from Octane 126, Fabienne Wohlwend, who won three races in a row, Race-2 at Spa-Francorchamps and the two at Misano.

Coppa Shell. The Coppa Shell was a lot harder fought, with a succession of twists and turns, especially towards the end of the season. Erich Prinoth (Ineco-MP Racing) notched up his first two wins at Mugello, followed by Vladimir Hladik (Baron Motorsport) and Christophe Hurni (Team Zenith Sion-Lausanne). Eric Cheung (Formula Racing) then overtook the Swiss driver in the standings, triumphing in Race-1 at Spa-Francorchamps and then twice at Misano. However, Hurni pulled off a great finale with victories at Brno, Barcelona and Monza, where he clinched the title. We should also mention the two triumphs (Barcelona and Monza) for Manuela Gostner (Ineco-MP Racing) who became increasingly competitive as the season went on.

Coppa Shell Am. In the new Coppa Shell Am class Murat Cuhadaroglu became the second Turk to win a Ferrari Challenge title after Galip Atar in 2017. The Kessel Racing driver slugged it out all-season long with Ingvar Mattsson (Scuderia Autoropa) and Alexander Nussbaumer (Formula Racing). Cuhadaroglu won five times and took the title ahead of Mattsson (three wins) and Nussbaumer who won as many as he did but collected fewer points along the way. Laurent De Meeus (Ferrari GB-H.R. Owen) won Race-1 at Monza, the only one not claimed by one of the three title contenders.

Latest news