In this section you can find the race timing monitor just like at Daytona. Follow live all the rankings, times and intermediates of each practice session, qualifying and race.
Find out more
Ferrari Challenge – Kauffmann, Smeeth and Loefflad world champions

5 December 2016

Ferrari Challenge – Kauffmann, Smeeth and Loefflad world champions

Daytona, 4 December 2016 – Sunday offered the fans the perfect end for the Ferrari Challenge at the Daytona Finali Mondiali with the two races that decided the world title providing excitement and a show in all three classes. In the end, the titles went to Carlos Kauffmann (Ferrari of Ft. Lauderdale), Sam Smeeth (Stratstone Ferrari) and Thomas Loefflad (StileF Squadra Corse).


Trofeo Pirelli. The most exciting race was the Pirelli Trophy, with one surprise after another. Immediately after the start, John Farano triggered an accident that forced race direction to send out the Safety Car. At the restart, Carlos Kauffmann held onto first place, but Bjorn Grossmann and Fabio Leimer wasted no time hunting him down with the 458 Challenge EVO of team Octane 126. About ten minutes from the end, Grossmann managed to overtake Kauffmann and soon afterwards it was Leimer’s turn, although shortly thereafter the Swiss driver was forced to retire by a puncture. In the last lap, the same misfortune befell Grossmann who, already anticipating the taste of champagne, was therefore forced to hand the victory over to Kauffmann. Second place went to Wei Lu, with Ferrari of Vancouver and third to Italian driver Marcello Puglisi (Rossocorsa).


Pirelli Am. In the Pirelli Am Trophy, Sam Smeeth completed the job, bringing home the world champion title in addition to the European title. The team Strastone Ferrari by FF Corse English driver was unrivalled and even finished in third place overall. Smeeth finished ahead of the Swede, Martin Nelson (Scuderia Autoropa), who was therefore able to redeem himself after the disappointment caused by the puncture in Race-1 on Friday, and Russian driver, Vladimir Atoev (Motor Service) who confirmed the talent he had already demonstrated in the Sochi and Jerez de la Frontera races. The SMP Academy student denied the satisfaction of the podium to Chinese driver, Huilin Han (CTF Beijing), who still drove a great race.


Coppa Shell. There was no lack of excitement in the Shell Cup as well, with a unique show on the 31-degree banked parabolic turns. The race was livened up with a three-way duel between Rick Lovat, European champion Thomas Loefflad and Czech driver Vladimir Hladik. Lovat, Saturday’s winner, tried everything to overtake Hladik until the Baron Service driver succeeded in exploiting a mistake made by Loefflad to pass him. Shortly thereafter, however, Hladik also made a mistake, allowing his rivals to overtake him. At that point, the Czech driver mounted a comeback that led to overtaking Lovat again and move into Loefflad’s slipstream. An accident involving Holger Harmsen forced race direction to send out the Safety Car, ending the race. Rick Lovat won the Gentlemen’s Cup, with the Ladies’ Cup going to Corinna Gostner, in twelfth place overall and as on the ball as ever throughout the weekend.