In this section you can find the race timing monitor just like at Daytona. Follow live all the rankings, times and intermediates of each practice session, qualifying and race.
Find out more
Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli – Weiland and Jin champions in the final sprint

4 December 2016

Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli – Weiland and Jin champions in the final sprint

Daytona, 3 December 2016 – It was the second day of races for the Ferrari Challenge at the Finali Mondiali with the last two titles awarded, in the North America and Asia Pacific Trofeo Pirelli Am. James Weiland (Boardwalk Ferrari) and Xin Jin (Prestige Harbin) are the new continental champions. After the Friday evening show, on Saturday the races were held in the daylight, which was still a fabulous show for the fans in the stands, in the infield and in the Fan Zones of the Daytona track, the site of the first ever Ferrari Finali Mondiali in North America.
Trofeo Pirelli Am North America. In the North America Pirelli Am Trophy, the title went to James Weiland who skilfully managed his race strategy. Weiland, who had taken the lead back in Race-1 with a three-point gap ahead of Steve Johnson, decided not to take any risks, opting to stay in his rival’s slipstream for the entire race. Johnson, on the other hand, was unable to put any other rivals between himself and his adversary, who therefore took the title by a single point. The win went to Arthur Romanelli (The Collection) who celebrated on the podium with his brother, Gregory, who was injured at Lime Rock but already well on his way to recovery. Second place went to Marc Muzzo (Ferrari of Ontario).
Pirelli Am APAC. The other title that had still not been awarded was the Asian-Pacific Pirelli Am, where Xin Jin started with an advantage. The Chinese Prestige Harbin driver was therefore able to settle for a third place finish, leaving the glory of the win to one of his adversaries, Huilin Han with team CTF Beijing, who finished ahead of his teammate and compatriot, Yanbin Xing. It was a difficult race for Eric Cheung (Auto Italia Hong Kong), who was the third driver in the hunt for the title. The Canadian had an off-track excursion and was forced to drive a comeback race.
Pirelli Am Europe. In the European class, fans were treated to another victory by this season’s absolute dominator, Sam Smeeth (Stratstone Ferrari), who put on a spectacular show, making several outside passes on the infield corners. John Farano (Rossocorsa) took second place and third place in the overall standings behind his teammate, Tommaso Rocca. Third and fourth place went to the two Scuderia Autoropa standard-bearers, Henrik Hedman and Martin Nelson.
Pirelli North America. The first driver under the chequered flag today was Italy’s Daniel Mancinelli, who was at the wheel of the Gregory Romanelli The Collection car. The Italian driver did an excellent job taking home the win, initially fending off attacks by Cooper MacNeil (Ferrari of Beverly Hills) and Carlos Kauffmann (Ferrari of Ft. Lauderdale) who were then left alone to battle it out for second place. The two overtook one another several times and in the end, the newly crowned North American champion had to settle for a third place finish.
Pirelli APAC. In the APAC Ferrari Challenge, Florian Merckx (Baron Service) finished the season with his sixth consecutive win, legitimizing his victory in the championship standings in the best possible way. Steve Wyatt (Barbagallo) stayed in second place for a long time before a spinout forced him to settle for third place behind Renaldi Hutasoit (Ferrari Jakarta).
Pirelli Europe. In the European series, fans watched Bjorn Grossmann (Octane 126) rescue his race, having no trouble overcoming the competition after consistent qualifying. The celebration was rounded out by his teammate, Fabio Leimer, who made a great comeback, overtaking Alessandro Vezzoni (Rossocorsa-Pellin Racing), who was still able to take home his third podium of the season after the ones at Le Mans and Jerez de la Frontera.